BOTHY by Kat Hill

You will find a bothy in the mountains or the wilderness, remote huts you can’t reserve, usually without electricity or other mod-cons, running water or a marker on the map. And it’s there that you’ll meet Kat Hill – kettle on, feet up and pen out.

Leading us on a gorgeous journey around the UK, Kat reveals the history of these wild mountain shelters and the people who visit them. With an historian’s insight and a rambler’s imagination, Kat lends fresh consideration to the concepts of nature, wilderness and escape. All the while, weaving together her story of heartbreak and new purpose with those her fellow wanderers – past and present.

For readers of Robert MacFarlane and Raynor Winn, this is no conventional environmental history. Instead, writing with warmth and wit, Kat has crafted a compelling work of creative-nonfiction, travel memoir, cultural geography and environmental activism.

Bothy is a stirring, beautiful book for anyone who longs to run away to the wilds…

9 May 2024 | HB | 9780008619022 | £16.99

If you’re an independent bookseller in the UK or Ireland and you’d like an advance reading copy of BOTHY please send your request, along with your name and bookshop address, to the IndieThinking team on independentthinking@harpercollins.co.uk

Other Articles

A Spy Like Me by Kim Sherwood

A heart-pounding international spy action thriller set in the world of James Bond which will leave you on the edge of your seat! Read More

Reek by Alastair Chisholm

Climate catastrophe leaves the people of Earth fighting for oxygen in this gripping dystopian thriller from bestselling sci-fi author Alastair Chisholm. Read More

The Big Ask by Simon James Green

Alfie Parker has bagged the hottest date to prom … hasn’t he? Bestselling LGBTQ+ writer Simon James Green makes his Barrington Stoke debut with a life-affirming teen romance. Read More