Independent Bookshop Edition: Orphia and Eurydicius by Elyse John

We are so excited to announce that in March 2024, Harper360UK will publish an independent bookshop exclusive edition of Orphia and Eurydicius by Elyse John. The independent bookshop edition features teal ombré sprayed edges with a digitally printed laurel design!

The stunning, gender-flipped novel about love, creativity and the power of speaking out – perfect for fans of Madeline Miller, Pat Barker and Natalia Haynes.

PBO | 9781460763049 | 28 Mar 2024 | £9.99​

Their love transcends every boundary. Can it cheat death?

Orphia dreams of something more than the warrior crafts she’s been forced to learn. Hidden away on a far-flung island, her blood sings with poetry and her words can move flowers to bloom and forests to grow … but her father, the sun god Apollo, has forbidden her this art.

A chance meeting with a young shield-maker, Eurydicius, gives her the courage to use her voice. After wielding all her gifts to defeat one final champion, Orphia draws the scrutiny of the gods. Performing her poetry, she wins the protection of the goddesses of the arts: the powerful Muses, who welcome her to their sanctuary on Mount Parnassus. Orphia learns to hone her talents, crafting words of magic infused with history, love and tragedy.

When Eurydicius joins her, Orphia struggles with her desire for fame and her budding love. As her bond with the gentle shield-maker grows, she joins the Argonauts on their quest for the Golden Fleece. Facing dragons, sirens and ruthless warriors on the voyage, Orphia earns unparalleled fame, but she longs to return to Eurydicius.

Yet she has a darker journey to make – one which will see her fight for her love with all the power of her poetry.


We have POS packs coming soon to celebrate the upcoming release of Orphia and Eurydicius, including bookmarks, badges, standees and window clings! Independent booksellers can request POS by emailing IndieThinking with their name, shop address and listing the items they would like for their shop. POS packs will be dispatched in mid-March ahead of publication.

Other Articles

Independent Bookshop Edition: The Garnett Girls by Georgina Moore

A powerful, big-hearted debut of love, sisterhood and what it means to be home – warm, joyful and tender, perfect for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid Read More

Independent Bookshop Edition: The Four by Ellie Keel

Four scholarship students’ dreams come true when they are accepted into an exclusive boarding school, but they will soon be bound by a dark secret that could save one of them… or destroy them all… Read More

Independent Bookshop Edition: Starminster by Megan Hopkins

Take flight on this beautifully-written, epic and soaring new adventure, perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Aisling Fowler, A. F. Steadman and Pari Thompson. Read More