New Proofs

Plain Bad Heroines by Emily Danforth

September 17, 2020

‘It’s a terrible story and one way to tell it is this: two girls in love and a fog of wasps cursed the place forever after…’

196

1902, Brookhants School for Girls: students Flo and Clara are madly in love with each other, as well as completely obsessed with The Story of Mary MacLane, the scandalous debut memoir by 19 year old MacLane. A few months later they are found dead in the woods, after a horrific wasp attack, the book lying next to their intertwined bodies. Within five years the school is closed. But not before three more people die on the property, each in a troubling way.

Over a hundred years later, Brookhants opens its doors once more, when a crew of young actresses arrive to film a high-profile movie about the rumoured Brookhants curse. And as past and present become grimly entangled, it’s soon impossible to tell quite where the curse leaves off and Hollywood begins…

For fans of Sarah Waters, Curtis Sittenfeld and Shirley Jackson, Plain Bad Heroines is by turns sharply witty and deeply unsettling: a modern gothic novel that is utterly immersive and hugely compelling.

Published 4th February 2021 | Hardback | 9780008346928 | RRP £14.99

If you’re a bookseller in the UK or Ireland and you’d like an advance reading copy of Plain Bad Heroines please send your request, along with your name and bookshop address, to Ammara at independentthinking@harpercollins.co.uk.

OR request on Netgalley.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply